News: The Nominations For The Arthur C. Clarke Award


The shortlist for Britain’s most prestigious sci-fi award has been revealed.

Here are the six titles vying to be crowned the best novel of the year at the upcoming award ceremony, in May.


The short list for the prestigious Arthur C. Clarke Award was announced earlier this week. The six nominated books were selected from a total of 112 eligible submissions from 42 publishers/imprints.


The six nominations for the Best Science Fiction Novel of the year, are:

God’s War by Kameron Hurley (Del Rey)
Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie (Orbit)
The Disestablishment Of Paradise by Phillip Mann (Gollancz)
Nexus by Ramez Naam (Angry Robot)
The Adjacent by Christopher Priest (Gollancz)
The Machine by James Smythe (Blue Door)

If you are wondering why you should care about this award, well, you don’t have to if you don’t want to. But the Arthur C. Clarke Award is regarded as one of the most prestigious accolades for Science Fiction literature in the UK.


The annual award is presented for the best science fiction novel of the year, and selected from a shortlist of novels whose UK first edition was published in the previous calendar year.

The Award was originally established by a generous grant from Sir Arthur C. Clarke with the aim of promoting science fiction, and is currently administered by the Serendip Foundation.

The winner is judged by a jury panel and selected from an initial shortlist of six eligible novels. The panel of judges is made up of a voluntary body of distinguished writers, critics and fans with the panel line-up changing every year.



News: Cover Reveal For Tower Lord By Anthony Ryan


Let the hype begin, it’s cover reveal time courtesy of Orbit Books.

The follow up to last summer’s smash hit novel, Blood Song, by Anthony Ryan has some artwork to show off.


The marketing campaign for Tower Lord by Anthony Ryan got under way yesterday, when publisher Orbit revealed the book’s cover art via their blog.

Scheduled for release in the summer of 2014, Tower Lord is book two of the Raven’s Shadow Trilogy, following up the highly acclaimed first book, Blood Song. The cover which you can see below, is the work of designers Nick Castle and Nik Keevil.

Cover Reveal

If you have not yet finished reading Blood Song, you may want to avoid reading the blurb for Tower Lord below, as it contains spoilers.

Continue reading

News: Tor Announces 7 Chapters For Free Download


The first seven chapters of Brian Staveley’s latest novel, The Emperor’s Blades, is available for free download, now.


Book CoverYesterday Tor Books announced, via their blog, that chapters one to seven of the upcoming book The Emperor’s Blades, is now available to download for free.

The Emperor’s Blades, Brian Staveley’s new fantasy novel, is the first instalment of a new series called Chronicles Of The Unhewn Throne. The hardcover edition is scheduled to be published by Tor in January 2014, but in the meantime you can download the first seven chapters for free; the links are available below:

Continue reading