News: The Nominations For The Arthur C. Clarke Award


The shortlist for Britain’s most prestigious sci-fi award has been revealed.

Here are the six titles vying to be crowned the best novel of the year at the upcoming award ceremony, in May.


The short list for the prestigious Arthur C. Clarke Award was announced earlier this week. The six nominated books were selected from a total of 112 eligible submissions from 42 publishers/imprints.


The six nominations for the Best Science Fiction Novel of the year, are:

God’s War by Kameron Hurley (Del Rey)
Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie (Orbit)
The Disestablishment Of Paradise by Phillip Mann (Gollancz)
Nexus by Ramez Naam (Angry Robot)
The Adjacent by Christopher Priest (Gollancz)
The Machine by James Smythe (Blue Door)

If you are wondering why you should care about this award, well, you don’t have to if you don’t want to. But the Arthur C. Clarke Award is regarded as one of the most prestigious accolades for Science Fiction literature in the UK.


The annual award is presented for the best science fiction novel of the year, and selected from a shortlist of novels whose UK first edition was published in the previous calendar year.

The Award was originally established by a generous grant from Sir Arthur C. Clarke with the aim of promoting science fiction, and is currently administered by the Serendip Foundation.

The winner is judged by a jury panel and selected from an initial shortlist of six eligible novels. The panel of judges is made up of a voluntary body of distinguished writers, critics and fans with the panel line-up changing every year.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s