Welcome To Another World


A JOURNEY OF A THOUSAND MILES BEGINS WITH A SINGLE STEP

And so it begins! All over again. The blogosphere has yet another (almost new) fantasy and science fiction book blog.

 

GraphicGreetings reader, I don’t know how you found yourself here, but thanks for dropping by. Another World is not an entirely new blog; it originally began life at Blogger, Google’s blogging platform, but for various reasons I feel that the time has come to relaunch it here at WordPress.

As a brief introduction, I’ll just mention why I initially decided to start this blog. For as long as I can remember I have been an avid reader. This love of reading began in early childhood when I first learned how to read and write; so while many of my peers were spending their free time playing outdoors, learning how to ride bikes etc. I preferred to visit the local library in search of books that would transport me to another world.

Now as an adult, reading is more than just a hobby for me. It has become the only thing, other than writing, that makes my life (if not worth living), at least tolerable. Coming from a rather disadvantaged background, books have always been the primary form of retreat available to me. In particular, Science Fiction & Fantasy, and their various sub-genres have been a most welcome escape from the soul destroying monotony that is my existence.

My only regret after all these years is that there has never been any other bookworms within my circle of friends, so I’ve never been able to share my love of reading books with anyone else.

Now, finally, I have been presented with the opportunity to redress this issue, having discovered online book blogging, this year. So in spite of my real life lack of literature loving friends (or friends of any description for that matter), there is a whole world of bookworms out there who I can now share my fiction addiction with online; although I currently have no expectation that anyone other than myself will be following this blog for the time being.

For the benefit of anybody who does happen to stumble upon this blog, you can expect to find reviews and trivia about the science fiction and fantasy books I have read, I’m currently reading, or plan to read in the future; news and previews of anticipated upcoming releases; profiles of some of my favourite authors and illustrators; reading recommendations and more.

GraphicHappy reading to all my fellow bookworms out there, and thank you for your interest in my blog. I hope you enjoy it, or it least find it useful.

 


In My Humble Opinion

Insights, reflections and opinions on various subject matters related to the literary world of fantasy and science fiction, for comment and discussion.




Leave a Reply

